Quality Education


From Pre-K programs to doctorate degrees, Carroll County offers some of Georgia’s finest educational opportunities for all of its residents. Our youngest citizens get off to a good start in first-rate private childcare academies and numerous locations of Georgia’s Pre-K Program, a lottery funded educational program for Georgia’s four-year-olds to prepare children for kindergarten.

Carroll County Schools and Carrollton City Schools provide Pre-K -12 public education. The Carroll County Schools System is the 24th largest school system in Georgia and the only district in the state to have two College and Career Academy campuses. The district has received national recognition for its unique work based-learning program, 12 for Life, a partnership with Southwire Company. On its 130-acre campus, Carrollton City Schools is committed to excellence in the three “A’s” – academics, arts and athletics – with national recognition for its efforts in STEM, an academic focus on science, technology, engineering and math.  Independent schools are also available in the county’s full spectrum of academic offerings.

Not many Georgia counties can boost being the home to both a technical college and a four-year university, combined offering certificates, associate, undergraduate, graduate and doctorate degree programs. The University System of Georgia named the University of West Georgia its “Institution of the Year” and U.S. News and World Report ranked five of UWG’s programs among the top 100 in the nation. West Georgia Technical College was named a finalist for the Technical College System of Georgia’s 2016 Technical College of the Year award as a powerhouse for technical education and workforce development for today’s high skill, hands-on careers.

Preparing students for the workforce gets special attention in Carroll County. The Carroll County Chamber and Carroll Tomorrow created a Workforce Education Task Force to coordinate countywide efforts toward the ultimate goal of giving every student the opportunity to discover their natural gifts, skill sets, and interests, and identify pathways that allow them to successfully pursue those career dreams.

The Carroll County Education Collaborative – a partnership of UWG, WGTC, Carroll County Schools, Carrollton City Schools and Oak Mountain Academy – had been created and continues to implement active engagement to further K-16 success. The program is expanding into contiguous counties and Georgia is endorsing the collaborative as a model for counties throughout the state.

Technical College

Carroll County is served by West Georgia Technical College. WGTC, with an enrollment of over 7,000, is the fastest growing and second largest technical college in the state of Georgia. Two campuses serve the needs of Carroll County residents and industry. The $27 million state-of-the-art Murphy Campus in north Carroll County and the Carroll Campus in Carrollton. WGTC offers a variety of Associate Degrees, Diploma and Certificate Programs including Applied Manufacturing Technology, Electronics Technology, Welding, Maintenance Mechanics, Computer Information Systems, Industrial Electrical Technology, Machine Tool Technology, Nursing, Allied Health Business Administration Technology and many others. WGTC, in partnership with Georgia Quick Start, also provides job specific training at no cost for new and expanding companies interested in developing a higher skilled workforce.


Founded in Carrollton, in 1906, the University of West Georgia is a four-year, doctoral-comprehensive public university and part of the University System of Georgia. Its more than 13,000 undergraduate and graduate students major in 86 fields of study at the bachelor’s, master’s, doctorate, and specialist levels. It is home to one of the few Honors Colleges in the state as well as one of the few Advanced Academies for high school students in the nation. U.S. News & World Report ranks UWG the #47 public university in the South, The Princeton Review consistently ranks it a Best Southeastern College, and UWG is designated as a Tree Campus USA by the Arbor Day Foundation.